California State Law – Storefront Advertising
Penalties are steep!
California Business and Professions Code Section 25612.5
No more than 33% of the square footage of windows and clear (e.g., glass) doors of an alcohol retailer may have advertising signs of any sort, including tobacco. This law applies only to retailers with an off-sale premises license to sell alcoholic beverages.
Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 6 months.